Hydrobowl POINTS RACE Results Archive

Hydrobowl Points Race Archive

This archive includes point totals for all Hydrobowl participants by season. The points race series was established in 2000, the year multiple Hydrobowl races began.

Hydrobowl History

The first human powered boat race that used a Hydrobowl format was held in Elkhart Indiana as "Hydrobowl 95". The race was held in Rockford Illinois in '97, '98, '99 and Rockford continues to be in the series as does Elkhart, as well as Sparta Wisconsin, and other cities around the greater Midwestern United States. Single-year sites have included Heartland Michigan, Buffalo New York, Brantford Ontario Canada in conjunction with the 2002 International Human Powered Speed Championships, or the "Worlds".

The Format was developped from the former IHPSC races held in places like Washington DC in 1985, Milwaukee Wisconsin in 1992, Blaine Minnesota in 1993, etc. The idea was then as it is now: to race boats in a series of events which are different enough so that no one particular feature of a human powered boat dominates the rest. For instance, if a boat is built fast, it may be long and skinny. But it might not turn very well. If it is short and maneuverable, it may not do as well in straight line speed. If a boat is nimble and light, it mat not survive as well as a heavily built machine doing the heavy labor involved with a static thrust.

The success of the Hydrobowl series is attributed to the competitiveness of the race participants and the inspiring leadership of the race directors. Early directors include Doug Milliken (Washington, Vancouver IHPSC,), Dennis Northy (Sparta, et al), Bill Ganes (IHPSC, LA). More recently Bob Buerger (Rockford), Bill Murphy (Rockford), Warren Beuchaump (Rockford), Jake Free (Brantford, LA, Elkhart), Dan Grow (St Joseph), and many others grown the fruit of the modern standardized Hydrobowl.

Hydrobowl Format

There are four events in the Hydrobowl:

100 meter flying start sprints

2000 meter closed course criterium


Static Thrust

The individual with the highest points accumulation from these 4 events is the winner of the hydrobowl, and the individual, team or club with the most accumulated points during the year from different hydrobowl venuesis the points champion.

The points series scoring is that you throw out your lowest score, thus taking out one of the races of the year...if there are 5 races in the season, four matter.

The scoring is the same with the four events as with the tally of different hydrobowl venues. First place (best of each of sprint, slalom, crit, ststic thrust, or best score from each race venue)gets 40 points, second gets 37, third 35, fourth 34, fifth 33, and so on.

Participants race as individuals; each competitor is allowed 1 boat change per season. For more on rules, go "HPBoats.rulz"> The following is the total of points of each hydrobowl participant.

SEASONAL PLACE/POINT TOTALS as of 9-02 (Long Beach event not yet ran):
name boat name(s) Elkhart Brantford Rockford Long Beach place
Felix Audet"Felix the cat" 7th 31
Derreck Banks"Wavebike 2" 3rd 37
Brantford RaftBrantford Raft 9th 29 /TD>
Len Brunkallacatamaran 9th 29
Bob Buergercatamaran 2nd (tie) 7th 68 4th/tie
Jake FreeOP-1 1st 2nd 1st 117 1st
Daniel Growsit-on-top surfski, fiberglass 5th 33
Richard Hodgekins20 ft touring kayak, carbon fiber w/ Kevlar aramid 4th 34
Midland Ontario Highschool Team"Water Strider" hydrofoil 8th 30
Bill Murphy"Transducer-5" and new catamaran 4th 6th 8th 96 2nd
Paul Niederman"Paul's Cat" 5th 2nd 70 3rd
Aaron Styles"Canyak 1.5" 2nd (tie) 7th 68 4th/tie
George Tatum"Glas-Feather" 1st 40
to home page